Skip to content


PPW is governed by an all-volunteer Board of Directors.  The Board ensures that PPW abides by its Bylaws, state and federal laws, and the rules that bind a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.  In addition, members of the Board often have additional roles in the organization.  The size of the Board and some of the job titles have changed over the years as the needs of PPW have evolved.  But what remains consistent is the volunteers’ focus on the health of the organization, and the commitment they have to the writers they serve.

Board members are elected to a two-year term at the annual meeting every September. Anyone interested in running for an open position must submit a one-page letter of inquiry detailing the position of interest, qualifications, and a brief bio to the nominations committee by August 31st of the respective year. Email letters to Put Board Nomination in the subject line.

President – Kim Olgren

Like many writers, Kim Olgren is a voracious reader. She’s worn many hats but writing has been her constant companion. In her “free” time she is a house renovator, PPW volunteer, maker, traveler, and loves hanging out with her family and faithful sofa wolf. She is a published mystery writer, but writes in many genres.

Kim has been a volunteer with Pikes Peak Writers since 2018. In addition to her duties as board president, she has been the editor of the PPW newsletter, non-conference events director, and is a contributor to Writing from the Peak, the PPW blog.

Past President – Deb Courtney

Deb holds a degree in Fiction from the University of South Florida, where she was a Saunders Scholar in Fiction. She has had numerous short stories published and has worked as a freelance journalist. Her background includes more than 20 years in Technical Project Management. 

Her consulting firm, Courtney Literary, is about to launch TaleWinds, featuring Regatta Project Management Software for Writers. She hosts the popular “Write Drunk, Edit Sober” improv writing series monthly in Colorado Springs.

Vice President – A.J. Metzger

AJ Metzger has been writing all her life and in the last few years published multiple academic papers for law enforcement.  She is branching out into fiction writing using some of the more comical and unique situations from real life as inspiration.  She currently lives in Colorado Springs where she grew up hunting, fishing, and off-roading with her dad.  When she isn’t writing she can be found riding or hiking with her dog or buried in a book.   

AJ became a PPW Volunteer in April 2022. She is not only the board Vice President, in May, she started out as the PPW Newsletter editor and has contributed to both non-conference and conference events.  

KJ Scrim, author

Secretary – Kathie Scrimgeour

Kathie Scrimgeour is a graduate of the University of Colorado at Boulder. In addition to serving on the Board of Directors with PPW, she is also the Managing Editor of Writing from the Peak (PPW’s blog) and the Project Manager on PPW’s anthologies, Fresh Starts and Dream. Her inspiration for blogging, flash fiction, short stories, and the long haul of novel writing comes from her many life experiences. You can follow her on her website, and on Facebook. When she’s not writing you can find her somewhere in Arizona biking, hiking, or finding Zen through Pilates.

Treasurer – August Olgren


Member-at-Large – Laura Hayden

Laura Hayden is one of the founders of the Pikes Peak Writers and served as it first president. She’s been associated with PPWC since its inaugural year, 1993. In addition, she’s held the position of PPWC  director for an unprecedented eight years (non-consecutive).  

She’s published thirteen fiction novels in a wide variety of genres, one nonfiction and many short stories. She owns Author, Author! a bookstore serving authors and co-owns Parker Hayden Media, an assisted self-publishing company. She resides in the Birmingham, Alabama area, but her heart remains in Colorado.

Member-at-Large – Dustin Hodge

Dustin has written and produced over 275 episodes of national television and is a member of the Television Academy and the Producers Guild of America. In addition, he has worked as a journalist in broadcast news and produced media projects in over 30 countries. Dustin was also a producer for Dr. Cornel West's podcast, The Tightrope.

Dustin was appointed to a National Endowment for the Arts Big Read Committee and an invited panelist for the Aspen Institute's Colorado Public Dialogues on Public Libraries.

He is currently the showrunner for the National Endowment for the Humanities-funded podcast Lost Highways.

Member-at-Large – Sharon Manislovich

Sharon holds the position of Webmaster for Pikes Peak Writers. She has a broad background in the technology field – teaching, constructing, and supporting website applications and infrastructure for over 25 years. She is currently working as a Web Systems Administrator, supporting over 150 websites and 55 servers. 

Sharon has taught computer software courses for Delaware Technical & Community College, UCCS Adult Education, Colorado Springs IBEW, PPLD, New Horizons Computer Learning Centers, and an assortment of private corporations.

Member-at-Large – Melissa Rollo