Skip to content

Sweet Success for J.D.R. Hawkins


By: Darby Karchut

Congratulations to J.D.R. Hawkins. Her latest novel, DOUBLE-EDGED SWORD, the fourth book in the Renegade Series (April 2022, Westwood Books Publishing), has been awarded the 2022 B.R.A.G. Medallion. Huzzah!

Double-Edged Sword, By: JDR Hawkins


The Civil War has ended. Confederate cavalryman, David Summers, returns home to Alabama, taking his new wife, Anna, with him. Upon arrival, he understands how much the war has changed him and has scarred his homeland. Faced with the challenges of transition, he learns how to navigate his new world, along with the pain and trauma of his past. He is also forced to confront his foes, including Stephen Montgomery. Their hatred for one another inevitably boils over into a fierce confrontation, whereby David is arrested. Will the jury believe his side of the story, even though he is an ex-Confederate? Or will he be hung for his crime? Purchase a copy through and from the author.

J.D.R. Hawkins, headshot


J.D.R. Hawkins is an Amazon, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling, award-winning author. She is one of a few female Civil War authors, uniquely describing the front lines from a Confederate perspective. Her “Renegade Series” tells the story of a family from Alabama before, during, and after the Civil War. She is a member of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, the International Women’s Writing Guild, Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers, and Pikes Peak Writers. Follow her on Facebook, Goodreads, Amazon Author, Instagram, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Twitter, and YouTube, and visit her at

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.